The Old Dominion Monarchs basketball team Reflects Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, United States in NCAA Division I men’s Contest.

The school’s team currently competes at the Conference USA. They had been also the Division II national champions in 1975, champions of the inaugural Postseason Tournament in 2009, and winners of the inaugural Vegas 16 in 2016. The team played in the Division I NCAA Tournament at 2019. The Monarchs are currently coached by Jeff Jones.
Old Dominion University has enjoyed an outstanding basketball tradition. Since fielding its first group in 1930, Old Dominion has won 1,240 games in 81 decades, a winning percentage of .591. Founded in 1930 as the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary, the institution gained independence in 1962 and became Old Dominion College. In 1969, University status was granted and the name was changed to Old Dominion University. The Monarchs have been selected for postseason play with 20 times since moving up to Division I in 1976–77, eight by the NCAA and ten from the NIT. Twenty-two players have been accorded All-American honors since 1958, including first team selections Wilson Washington (1975–76), Joel Copeland (1973–74) and Dave Twardzik (1972–73).
Jeff Jones became the head coach of Old Dominion for the 2013-14 season and has led ODU 1 NIT Final Four appearance. Jones is 89-51 in four years as head coach of the Monarchs. Jeff Jones lead the Monarchs to the 2019 Conference USA Championship and also the 2019 NCAA Tournament where they’ll play Purdue in the first round.

Read more:

Write Your Review